​The Water Services function comprises 18 member municipalities, one electoral area and one treaty First Nation within Metro Vancouver, serving a population of approximately 2.5 million. Drinking water is collected from within three protected mountain watersheds covering an area of approximately 60,000 hectares. The system itself comprises six mountain storage lakes, five dams, two major water treatment facilities, over 520km of large diameter transmission mains, 25 storage reservoirs, 19 pump stations and 8 rechlorination stations. Water Services is guided by the Board Strategic Plan and the Drinking Water Management Plan.